The Fear Food Chronicles #1

Bread.

 

I remember the last time I ate bread was in the summer of 2010 as a mentor at the Upward Bound Program. We had just taken our students white water rafting for a team builder. We were soaked and stopped in the middle of the trip for our lunch break.

image-vintage-wonder-bread
The only vegetarian-friendly option (not even vegan) was hotdog rolls and mustard. (Really though, why would you have pork rinds as a side option. Oh, Delaware) So that’s what I ate for lunch that day.

I felt so guilty about it that I hadn’t eaten it since.

IMG_3588
Until August 18th, 2016.

Yesterday, I ate one piece of toasted Ezekiel 4:9 Bread with my lunch. It wasn’t good. But it wasn’t bad. I didn’t flip out nearly as much as I had expected myself to, but I can’t say that I totally feel comfortable with the experience. ALTHOUGH- I did dip the bread in some pretty great hummus.

Until next time, Mr. Carb.

One thought on “The Fear Food Chronicles #1

Leave a Reply

